Little Gifts (A Short Short Story)

Posted: July 17, 2013 in Flash Fiction, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

My first ever publication was a flash fiction piece from the Eunoia Review. Flash fiction is a short form of writing that is semi-taboo but gaining increased popularity amongst the literary world. It involves telling a complete story in as few words as possible, usually somewhere between 6 to 1,000 words.

Little Gifts

On Christmas Eve my father gave me bruises as a little gift. He dragged me down the stairs by my long hair and beat me under the tree’s lights.

“You think Jesus never got a whipping for doing something bad?” he yelled.

He wasn’t drunk and he wasn’t out of his mind either. My father just beat me because he was mean. I didn’t even know what I had done wrong.

“You’re a leech,” he told me. “A leech.”

I wasn’t even sure what a leech was but that night I looked it up in the dictionary.

On Christmas morning my father woke up with my teeth in his arm. That was my little gift.

“What are you doing?” he yelled.

“Being a leech,” I said. “I’m a leech.”

My father didn’t call me a leech no more after that but he did knock out my front teeth. They were just baby teeth. I didn’t need them anyway.

Comments
  1. authormirandastone says:

    Excellent piece of flash fiction. Very powerful.

  2. Really enjoyed this piece. It’s very hard to use humour effectively when dealing with such serious issues, but you managed it.

  3. This gave me chills…and quite honestly I wanted to knock out all of the father’s teeth. You made me feel and that’s what writers do. You in a “flash” ( 🙂 ) captured the black heart of the father and the inability of the child to be anything other than a child. Awesome work!

  4. bejamin4 says:

    Thanks. I appreciate your comment. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

