Wasting TIme (If You Ever Come Back): A Poem

Posted: August 31, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Wasting Time (If You Ever Come Back)

After Robert Hayden

 

Unable to sleep, or pray, I stand

By the window looking out

Stars excommunicated, the sky, faithless, black

Children in torn pants and shirts devouring

Air for oxygen, for food, and

A woman suckles a pup at her breast

Her newborn clawing at naked feet

 

Unable to pray, or pretend, I wish

That change comes with blinks

But, I am, I am a prisoner of logic

And reality is the way I left it

So I set the table, like you, for three

In case another joins me from the street

I won’t eat, though, I won’t eat

Until you come back

Comments
  1. Shannun says:

    You write beautifully!

Leave a Reply

