Freeing Me

Posted: September 14, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Freeing Me

I come from the walls

Triangles and sticks

My mother had no breasts

So I fed off myself

Long before I lost my father’s name

 

From the beginning I stood on my feet

Learned what bullshit was

From reading classic books

 

I neglect history

Have made enough of my own

 

I am the first and last of my kind

Not a monkey man

But a man of the mind

Fragments are the answer to slowing time

And if you survive a thousand falls

You’ll evolve into what I am

 

The inhuman voice

From a different age

Past and future fused

The philosopher sage

 

I hear colors

Smell words

Touch feelings

Taste sounds

 

I am what the ancients called clown

A master of oral lore

Heartless but undamaged

Ruined but remade

Logic intensified

 

I came from the walls

But my fall was from the clouds

 

*Freeing Me was first published by the Rusty Nail.

Comments
  1. Miranda Stone says:

    Excellent poem! And that first sentence made me laugh.

  2. lostsoul62 says:

    good poem , i loved it , i like the dark style of this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

