This I Believe

Posted: December 14, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

I believe in

Picture frames

As shelter for memories

 

I believe in

Allergies

To hate and war

 

I believe in

Deafness to

Dumb words

 

I believe in

Weighing intelligence

Not gravity

 

I believed in

Buddha

Until divinity

 

I believed

In Zeus

Until heresy

 

I believed in

Odin

Until literacy

 

I believed in

Yahweh

Until trinity

 

I believed in

Jesus

Until his butchery

 

I believed in

Faith

Until it became holey

 

I believed in

Truth

Until you showed me

Comments
  1. Phen Weston says:

    This is a wonderful, creative poem. There are many thought provoking and interesting ideas behind this. One of my favourites my friend πŸ™‚

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thank you. It was based on a essay done by college students where they write what they believe in for their first years, so I did my own little poem about it.

      • Phen Weston says:

        That’s a great idea. I love the references to the different deities and how far the beliefs into/surrounding them go. I think I may find that an hard essay, in still discovering I think. Give me a couple thousand word analysis of a poem though πŸ™‚ it’s a great piece my friend πŸ™‚

      • bejamin4 says:

        Thanks so much. You should try one something like that. You’re just supposed to say I Believe… and go from there. You can believe in cats, or surfing, or love, or writing poetry or anything. Thanks again for commenting πŸ™‚

      • Phen Weston says:

        You’re very welcome

Leave a Reply

