Philophobia (The Fear Of Falling In Love)

Posted: February 7, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Once the sky falls asleep

I have this constant fear of looking up

Afraid the stars may be released upon my head

 

Tears never fall in space

But it’s never been the tears that made us sad

 

Though words will never hurt me

My words will get me hurt

 

In order to love like nature intended do we need three hearts?

Five eyes to see the world we’ve all created?

 

Sometimes I have this nightmare that I’m dumber than a banana

Why are there more than a 1,000 ways to die but only half as many ways to love?

 

I’m always comforted by this dream where God says:

“You weren’t a mistake

The Dinosaurs were.”

Comments
  1. InfiniteZip says:

    This is awesome! I like dinosaurs though:)

  2. Pua Nani says:

    The title alone made me want to cry

  3. oakes23 says:

    I really appreciate poetry with laughs in it. Dumber than a banana and the dinosaurs were great lines. It’s great when a poem conveys something and entertains in equal measure.

  4. This line: “I have this constant fear of looking up /Afraid the stars may be released upon my head”

    and the last one were fantastic. This is really good poem. I want to write stuff like this

  5. bejamin4 says:

    Thanks and thanks.

  6. Wow this is brilliant; and the last lines? Maan, it just gave me that poetry feeling – the one where everything all of a sudden makes sense and it is as if you’re in on a secret. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

