My Zero

Posted: February 19, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

The one
You are not
I have found “the one” several times before
And no longer are they my ones
But the ones of another

(I refuse to spend any more time climbing ladders, jumping trains, or swimming through puddles of my own tears in search of “a one” who often evaporates into no one. Therefore, the next one will not be.)

The one
You are not
But my zero

I will bring the scent of many before you’s
Women on my hips
In my beard
In my hair
In my mouth
Between my thighs and my fingers
Yes, an ocean of jealous females
Will come

But when I multiply them
By you
They will be nothing

Comments
  1. xmarrsx says:

    Dam Again! sweetness!..you killed it nice work

  2. I totally hear you on this one. It’s just so friggn’ frustrating these days.

  3. babylondogs says:

    I love the concept of this.

  4. Miranda Stone says:

    Fantastic, and clever indeed, especially that last stanza, Benjamin. I really enjoyed how you played with that ancient myth of a new love being “the one.”

  5. bejamin4 says:

    Thanks. I’ve recently found zero to be a much more enticing number.

  6. I really love your poetry. It’s such a refreshing style and voice! I agree with Miranda, the last stanza is lovely.

  7. I love what you can do with zero.. It’s just another aspect of infinity.

  8. edgarone2 says:

    intriguing poem.
    I have to read the poem slowly.

  9. This was quite clever. Really nice stuff. Many thanx for visiting my blog and have a wonderful day. Peace.

  10. dbwolfe says:

    Cool. Attachment’s a prickly thing… If someone’s the “one,” there’s something you can lose. If they’re your “zero,” nothing compares (cue Sinead O’Connor…) to them. I like the idea, dude. Although, I wouldn’t go telling a girl “Baby, you’re nothing to me.”

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thanks for the read and comments. I think you’re right that almost nobody would want to be called nothing, but the right one (or zero) might understand the power of nothing. In many ways, nothing is everything. Thanks again.

  11. Samantha says:

    Awesome poem & concept. Though, I think my boyfriend might be offended if I called him my zero without an explanation. Lol!

    • bejamin4 says:

      Yes, probably. I think it is all in the explanation. Don’t try it without a 5 minute explanation at the beginning or end or even possibly in the middle. Thanks for reading and leaving some words.

  12. Phen Weston says:

    With every new poem of yours i discover I find a thousand things I’ve felt or wanted to say to someone in the past. You’re very good at portraying emotion, thoughts and life.

Leave a Reply

