When Was It?

Posted: March 1, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

When we took on the gravity of the moon?
When our knees went AWOL?
When our heartbeats staccatoed?
When our bodies experienced global warming?
When the Big Bang occurred between our thighs
And we found God?
When we fell out of the Garden?
When we wounded each other
With something worse than sticks and stones?
When we resurrected dead butterflies in the pits of our stomachs?
When our monsters weren’t scared of one another?

When was it that we drank from the same cup of besottment?
When was it (because I don’t know)?

Comments
  1. You are masterfully creative with your words and ideas… I really dig how your brain works.

  2. meighanson says:

    Oh man…so good…so FREAKIN’ good…to the cells of my marrow good.

  3. meighanson says:

    Reblogged this on meighanson and commented:
    Love this!

  4. Pua Nani says:

    really nice. “the big bang” I love that

  5. Really liked this, quite a rollercoaster and the end is so strong. Loved ‘the same cup of besottment’!

  6. xmarrsx says:

    Again beautiful writing the dead butterflies got me… Excellent

  7. pretso says:

    I don’t understand it. Ben, would you be so kind and help me to understand it? Thank you.

    • bejamin4 says:

      I don’t fully understand it myself and that is why the question marks are there. I think each line can have a number of meanings. Thanks for reading.

  8. Anastasia Beaverhausen says:

    I like the construction of your poem.

  9. I love the progression that the narrator takes us through… from the first stages of love, to making love, to falling apart, to coming back together … it’s beautiful, really. At least that’s how I read it.
    “when we resurrected dead butterflies” – what a wonderful image!!

  10. Miranda Stone says:

    Fantastic, Benjamin.

  11. caliroe says:

    WOW Bejamin! “Fresh writerly air”, indeed!
    I LOVE that each line ended with a question mark, you gave each of us the gift of choosing the line that blew our minds and let us run with our own personal story.
    That’s powerful in a piece ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. vgarrison77 says:

    I love this one…all of the stages of the relationship…especially loved the lines about resurrecting the dead butterflies and their monsters not being afraid of each other!

  13. jcrotty2013 says:

    Thanks again for your feedback on my work. Really appreciate the words man. I also really appreciated this line of yours ” When the Big Bang occurred between our thighs
    And we found God?” Great stuff man, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

