Acoustic Reasoning (A Poem Of Tired Clichés)

Posted: April 7, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

A word to the wise
Children are the future
But still nothing separates men from boys
Or women from girls

How does life go from bad to worse when it’s always been worse?
We’ve all been living under this glass ceiling
Every man for himself: the National Pledge of Allegiance

I never use numbers to count the blessings
There are no blessings to count
Fools rush in but they also rush out
“And I know that’s a gun
You’re never happy to see me”

I’ve given up on heaven                       so                       lately I’ve been hoping to hell
That life’s a bitch only up until you die

Do we leave hearts home when we go out?
Wait until the day we’ll have to cry a river just to get something to drink

We waste each other’s time with words
When the meaning of life could be answered with four letters

Sometimes

I feel like I’m talking to hands
With all the emptiness these heads contain

How can we see eye-to-eye when we are all
not the same
height?
When
we
run
out
of
trees
where
will
the
apples
fall?
Drop those bombs and we will all walk on air

Comments
  1. i can’t even pick a favorite line. you do such an incredible job portraying the depravity of humanity. love this.

  2. xmarrsx says:

    Ok B! this one is my favorite right now…excellence …well done sir!!

  3. Miranda Stone says:

    Only you could craft a beautiful poem out of tired clichés. 🙂

  4. A really clever poem Benjamin, I love it!

  5. The daily conundrum repeats itself irrevocably. Only a harbinger can come in to break the mold, but even then they are eventually snuffed out and forgotten.

  6. Phen Weston says:

    I think wordsmith is an understatement for you my friend. You are a master of words, emotion and philosophy, there is so much to this poem. “I feel like I’m talking to hands/ With all the emptiness these heads contain” there is so much truth in these lines especially.

  7. Anita Lubesh says:

    I really enjoy details such as this has – the steady drop, and expiosive ending..

Leave a Reply

