Ms. Gravedigger

Posted: May 11, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

I thought “Gravedigger” was a nickname
Earned in High School
On the Volleyball Team
Because, in your own words, you were “Six feet dead on.”

Though why didn’t I rethink my thoughts
When you said: “Sleeping is my favorite pastime.”
Or: “I prefer sunset over sunrise.”
Or even: “Grim is the dictionary’s best word.”

Once, I asked you the name of your father
You joked, “Father Time.”
That was no joke.

Had I known your surname was Gravedigger
I wouldn’t have agreed to give you my hand
And I swear on my headstone—
I wouldn’t have followed you into the dark.

Comments
  1. Phen Weston says:

    Wow. That is some powerful imagery. It is all beautifully written, but that last stanza is beyond stunning! This is going to play on my mind for a while now, I’m blown away 😀

  2. bejamin4 says:

    Thank you (truly and honestly).

  3. i love the last stanza, too. a lot! but the grim part, too. grim is actually a really great word. nice job, benjamin 🙂

  4. Miranda Stone says:

    Ooh, this poem is downright sinister! And I feel like there’s a short story begging to be told from it. Yet you’re able to create a complete story in just a few lines of poetry. Excellent work, Benjamin.

  5. esalyesi says:

    Very graphic and tale-some, I feel like a child reading this at bedtime.

Leave a Reply

