Reality

Posted: June 4, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

By Benjamin Grossman and Christopher Rupley

When the tide
turns gray,
my thoughts sky-dive,
hopes hibernate,
and knees marry the ground

I flirt with invisible answers,
ask for the deletion of certain actions,
as if the entirety of my life
is contained in a file
on a computer

I take a breath to
try and ease the pain,
only the pain sees me
for who I am,
lunges towards me,
engages fiercely,
and sends me on
my way

I know not where I’ll land
but I hope to fall into your wants,
your needs,
your future

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and CMRSYK1985: Make sure and check out his blog by visiting The Brown Bag Special.)

Comments
  1. haddyism says:

    🙂

  2. Miranda Stone says:

    Wow, this is excellent, you two! That line “and knees marry the ground” is just fantastic. Such a poignant depiction of regret.

  3. redgladiola says:

    Nice work. That first stanza is particularly stunning!

  4. mgquinonez says:

    “I flirt with invisible answers” that line inspired something within me. Lovely piece.
    ~The Mystery of M

  5. Outstanding! Simply outstanding!

Leave a Reply

