Lingering Love

Posted: July 14, 2014 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Is it senseless to wait
on the corner of love?

Because I’ve been there
for many pulls of the tides
amongst a crowd of
sleeve-hearted, chest-beating,
moon-howlers:
modern-day knights
afraid of the sun.

I’ve felt the knives
and smelled the blood;
I’ve heard the moon
laugh at the dreamers.

So why do I wait?

© jadedmess 2014 & © thebreakdownoftaboo 2014

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and jadedmess: Make sure and check out her blog here.)

Comments
  1. what a great poem. i think we wait because love is worth it. if it’s a right person, waiting on the corner of love for a period of time will be necessary and beneficial… but if it’s a wrong person, the wait is fruitless.

    • bejamin4 says:

      I think you made the key point: if it is the right person. Oftentimes we make the mistake of waiting around for the wrong person. My personal experiences can agree with your words.

  2. redgladiola says:

    It’s a good idea to wait and lose some of the idealism…and know when infatuation moves into real love. The sun illuminates more than the moon. =)

  3. Phen Weston says:

    What amazing lines “I’ve heard the moon / laugh at the dreamers.” Brilliant 🙂

  4. These knights prowl in the night where the libations give them the courage. I really like this one, though perhaps I interpret it in a way different from what was meant. It’ll happen I’m sure, but regardless, great imagery and symbolism!

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thanks. I like your interpretation. Interpretation, after all, is one of the best parts about writing, and it is what helps bring the writer and reader together.

  5. Miranda Stone says:

    This poem is fantastic all the way around, but I’m particularly struck by the first stanza, and also “modern-day knights/afraid of the sun.” I’m convinced you two were meant to collaborate together. Well done!

Leave a Reply

