An Ode To Pyxis

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

By  Benjamin Grossman & Phen Weston

Cannibalistic stares
Haunt my anorexic soul
Have my feelings matured
Into a hollow darkness
Where synthetic shades
Dispel the hunger
We crave?

My mural of shadows
You stand just
In front of an aging light
With no brightened breaths
Is all time lost
To a casket of memories?

Sweet Pyxis,
Constellations and silhouettes
Weave across mortal nights
Do old seasons ripen
With tomorrow’s echoes?

Dear Pyxis,
My faint compass
Guide me toward
Heavenly waters
Steer me toward
Emotional stasis
Can consecrated aqua
Hold me to serenity?

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and Phen Weston: Make sure and check out his blog here.)

Comments
  1. Miranda Stone says:

    Fantastic! That third stanza gave me chills. I love how you slowly wind down to the final stanza, which is such a stunning contrast to the way the poem starts out. Well done!

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thank you. Phen is a very talented wordsmith; it was a pleasure working with him on this poem. I see what you’re saying about the stark contrast from beginning to end. Maybe there is a little hope in it.

  2. redgladiola says:

    My favorite has to be the contrast between the cannibalistic crowd and the anorexic narrator. “Anorexic” is such a strong word and implies the narrator is “sick” to a society that I think is the actual one that is sick.

Leave a Reply

