A Ripened Dance

Posted: July 17, 2014 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

By Benjamin Grossman and Phen Weston

I dance to the writhen
Nature of her nightly beat,
Dedicated zigzags of passion,
Playing high fidelity with
The rap-a-tap-tap of her feet.
What am I to her?
An empty chalice?
Distorted ornament?

Can she not view
The devotion hidden
Behind my movements?
Must I un-look
To see?
Must I un-dream
To be?
Must I unlove her
In order to love rightly?

The beat picks up, kicks in,
Instinct flourishes within,
Do her variations need response
When the rhythm sounds to me?
Tribal, jungle, primal,
My reverberations cha-cha-cha
To my soul and I am known
To me, I see through
Her desires and needs,

I am the treble clef
I am the whole of fragments
I am the yes within the no
I am the one of two
I am myself born in common time

The heat rises, decisive,
Her naked heart sneaks a peek
And her body moves
To my new beat,
A wolf emerges
To tango his prey,
Instead of hers, she is mine,
And we dance the night away,
Until it is ripe
With the scent
Of us.

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and Phen Weston: Make sure and check out his blog here.)

Comments
  1. Miranda Stone says:

    I love the rhythm of this poem. You describe this dance perfectly. The words flow so well. Once again, great work!

  2. bejamin4 says:

    Thank you. Thank you.

  3. Wonderful! I love the imagery and the flow.:)

  4. jadedmess says:

    Love it πŸ™‚ Your title is perfect ❀

  5. Wow, another great work! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

