Strangers In A Dreamland

Posted: July 23, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

I think (last night)
I wanted
To forget our
Relational existence

I wished (last night)
That you were
The stars
Burning in the distance.

I prayed (last night)
God needed you
Up there more
Than down here.

I dreamed (last night)
We were
Strangers and
I awoke
In an emotional river.

I hoped (last night)
The current from
That river
Would carry me
Farther away from you.

I’m sorry (tonight)
For telling the world
What I thought of
Last night
Before I told you.

Comments
  1. jadedmess says:

    Sadly beautiful ❤

  2. Pua Nani says:

    The repetition in this one gives it a timeless quality, like a ghazal. Lovely and lyrical

  3. dertalmid says:

    Great writing, simply great! Thank you

  4. Phen Weston says:

    Amazing my friend. I especially love the second and forth stanzas. I know these feelings so well. Very emotional. Love it!

  5. Amazing. Sucks to be the narrator’s ex. Goodness!

  6. Miranda Stone says:

    This poem pretty much perfectly encapsulates (okay, that’s way too much alliteration for one sentence) the agony of a dying relationship. I love that last stanza. It has such a finality to it, like the last nail in the relationship’s coffin, so to speak. Fantastic writing, as always, Benjamin!

  7. F.G.M. says:

    Beautiful! I love both the rhythm (nice use of repetitions) and the (sad) meaning. Thank you for sharing Benjamin.

  8. Very powerful and the pacing was excellent.

  9. Rob McShane says:

    excellent Benjamin – great pace, love the repetition and the ending…Wow!! Thanks!

  10. jadonato14 says:

    Beautiful & heartfelt, blunt & honest

Leave a Reply

