You Are A Poem

Posted: August 8, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

A flexible form
made up of lines
no poet should revise

Never restricted
by rhyme or set tradition
like the haiku or the ghazal

You are free
to roam the rules
versed in syllables
unmeasurable by meter
a visual display of alliteration

Something like an ode
with limitless stanzas
your beauty is reminiscent
of a sonnet or villanelle

I could become myself
in your rhythmic pattern and refrains
reading you everyday and in every way
translating you into a thousand laments until

You were my poem:
EPIC
EROTIC
EVERYTHING

Comments
  1. babylondogs says:

    Wow. Great piece; the ending slammed it shut. Perfect.

  2. jadedmess says:

    Absolutely beautiful ❀

  3. love, Love, LOVE this! really, it’s pretty fantastic. you should stop writing such good poetry. you’re making everyone else look bad!

  4. F.G.M. says:

    Powerful
    Passionate and so
    Poetical…

    Would sound great in French too!

  5. Miranda Stone says:

    Look at you, turning out yet another fantastic poem! Very original, the way the object of your affection is personified as a poem here. That third stanza is so good, I’m jealous. πŸ˜‰ Excellent work, as always, Benjamin.

  6. One very lucky person was the inspiration for this poem. Beautiful!

  7. Pua Nani says:

    I really love this

  8. Phen Weston says:

    Wow, what an amazing poem! Completely perfect! And this stanza:

    “I could become myself
    in your rhythmic pattern and refrains
    reading you everyday and in every way
    translating you into a thousand laments until”

    How truly beautiful and beyond perfect. Completely incredible XD

  9. redgladiola says:

    People are so complex, I agree. ❀

  10. That was just awesome!! Loved the ending! That needs to be in a book or something…

  11. yunasoriano says:

    Someone once broke up with me saying, “I am not a poem. This is not a love story.” Should I have written this masterpiece, I think my ex would’ve begged me to take her back *sneers*. A truly beautiful poem. The last five lines were my favorite. Perfection to say the least. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

