Ambush

Posted: August 12, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

You surprised my heart with an attack
Declaring war on my insides
With weapons never
Intended for conflict

You shot shit not from a bull
But a beast in human form
Even a guerrilla wouldn’t
Commit to those tactics

You agreed upon nonviolence
With plastic promises and cosmetic lies
Yet the paint on your face
Confirmed you were still in battle

You engaged without bloodshed
For you preferred the shedding of tears
A smile dropped here and a smile dropped there
You blew me up with peaceful kisses
The bombs of seductive love

I’m glad our one-sided struggle ended when it did
I would’ve never survived a nuclear relationship

Comments
  1. BeleagueredServant says:

    This is wonderful, and terrifying.

  2. Miranda Stone says:

    Wow, this is a helluva powerful poem, Benjamin! That third stanza, with its “plastic promises and cosmetic lies,” is stellar. How do you write such awesome stuff practically every day? Jealous! 🙂

  3. Phen Weston says:

    Absolutely, completely, brilliant!!!! So many lines that scream out with magnificence and perfection. I don’t even know which to single out. I love it completely! I also know it very well first hand. Amazing work my friend 🙂

  4. babylondogs says:

    One of my favorites.

  5. wow, very nicely done. I really liked “plastic promises and cosmetic lies”. well said.

Leave a Reply

