Karen

Posted: September 17, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

My years divisible by yours (42 ÷ 21= 2)
Was an ancient concern

I love the craters in the moon
And they outnumber my sunrises (4, 500, 000, 000 ÷ 21=21,485,714.29)

Born in the midst of the Vietnam War (1965)
Born near the end of the Cold War (1987)

You listened to the Jackson 5
I listened to just 1 Jackson

Mid-life crisis (50)
Quarter-life crisis (25)
Closer to near than far

You said, “You’re too young of mind.”
I said, “We’re both younger than time.”

Beauty neglects age
Shadows give our hearts eyes

Besides

We both hate the sound of the clock
We both remember the silence after goodbye
We both prefer pleasure to love

I thought we both preferred pleasure to love
Though you said, “Don’t fuck me for fun or I’ll kick your ass.”

I wanted to lie
But I didn’t want my ass kicked
By a woman old enough to be my mother

Comments
  1. Oh my! LOL! 😀 Reading this as a 42 year old woman is hilarious.

  2. dertalmid says:

    Great write, my friend!

  3. Nice inclusion of mathematics. A large gap between ages is sometimes inconsequential so long as the passion or love is there.

  4. I love the craters in the moon part… and also “beauty neglects age”. That’s a great line!

  5. Miranda Stone says:

    I love the way your mind works, Benjamin. It’s always a pleasant surprise to read your poems and discover the direction you’ll take them. I felt that this poem strikes a wistful note, an idea of what could have been. But your mathematical equations lend a certain clinical analysis to the words. Well done!

  6. Chagall says:

    Really good read. I am a compulsive numerologist who sees meaning in every license plate and clock-tick, so I especially liked your ponderings there. —Chagall

  7. bejamin4 says:

    Haha, you’re right. It’s definitely something to reconsider.

Leave a Reply

