Behind Me Is You

Posted: September 18, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

Behind every great writer
There is a great woman

If I am ever to be a great writer
I need to find a great woman

You were a great woman
Before I was ever a writer

And you are greater than great
For my writing is beyond great ( πŸ˜‰ )

Behind my every sentence
There are your eyes

Behind my every word
There are your lips

Beyond my every piece
There is you

My hope is that this poem
Will bring you in front of me where you belong

 

(For Laura: the most amazing woman in my world and the most fantastic editor.)

 

Comments
  1. jadedmess says:

    Laura, you are blessed. Lovely poem Ben πŸ™‚

  2. Miranda Stone says:

    Haha! That line with the wink made me smile. And I’m sure Laura will love this.

  3. tenderlytina says:

    Awww sweet, and of course that explains why I’m not a great writer, I apparently need to find a great woman and make her stay behind me while I write. πŸ™‚

  4. Macximu$ says:

    thats the truth! I’m just now realizing how much mine inspires me, great piece man

  5. stacilys says:

    Hahahaha.
    “And you are greater than great
    For my writing is beyond great ( ;)”
    –You are so humble (and a little cheeky). Love it.
    I especially like this line: “Behind my every sentence There are your eyes.
    πŸ™‚

  6. Very sweet, Benjamin. Sounds like you have a fantastic woman in front of you. You make each other look good. πŸ™‚

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thanks, Aud. She’s too great to be in back of me. She’s much better than me in many ways. Thanks or the comments. Phew, I wish I looked good. Have a great day!

  7. Nice tribute to Laura, even with the nod to your modesty. πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, Ben! I love this. I’m humbled. Thank you. ❀

    A few things…
    1) I don't belong in front of you, ever. But I will certainly stand beside you, always.
    2) This makes me laugh:
    And you are greater than great
    For my writing is beyond great ( πŸ˜‰ )
    I agree that your writing is beyond great, and I am happy you know it, too!
    3) I think you are amazing, too, and I'm so blessed to have you in my life.

  9. yunasoriano says:

    This has got to be one of my favorites from you, Ben. I really like the cheekiness of it. πŸ™‚ High-fiving Laura for having someone like you writing amazing pieces for her. *currently swooning like a teenage girl* haha

  10. cmrsyk1985 says:

    I love your writing, but I’m not too sure if I agree with your premise here, friend…lol

  11. Phen Weston says:

    What a tribute πŸ™‚ beautiful lines “Behind my every sentence / There are your eyes / Behind my every word / There are your lips”

Leave a Reply

