Teach Me How To Lie

Posted: October 10, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I fell in love
Not with you
But with your lies

I watched you
Not as if you were
A human being
But a television
Eagerly anticipating
Your next episode

You were a master
Of tricks and tantrums
Yet a novice with deception

Still you lied and lied
Like you were the
Reincarnation of Pinocchio

I told one white lie
And my soul feels
Darker than the inside
Of a chimney

How are you not
A pile of soot
From all the smoke
You blew my way?

Oh, la Pinocchia
Teach me how to lie
And feel good about it

Comments
  1. I think you might be the most clever person I know…. ❀ this poem!

  2. Miranda Stone says:

    I was reading this and cringing a bit, hoping it wasn’t one of your more personal poems as of late, since you felt so positive earlier this week. I was glad to see it tagged humor. It definitely does have your sardonic wit, Benjamin.

    • bejamin4 says:

      “Sardonic” is a good word. I wavering on my positivity, I think, but still hanging on to it as best I can. Only half this poem is personal; I certainly don’t want to learn how to lie and feel good about it.

      • Miranda Stone says:

        It can certainly be difficult to maintain a positive outlook, but I admire you for continuing to try. Hope you had a good weekend.

      • bejamin4 says:

        Rough Sunday but trying to smile anyway. Saturday was great, though! I hope you had a better one than me πŸ™‚ And that your writing is going in the direction you want.

      • Miranda Stone says:

        Sorry today was rough. 😦 I’ve had a nice weekend, thanks. Haven’t gotten any writing done so far. Hopefully that will change this evening.

      • bejamin4 says:

        It’s okay; no worries. It makes me happy to know your weekend went well πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll get some good writing done this evening.

  3. redgladiola says:

    Oh nice! I love the second to last stanza especially. Great image!

  4. Haha. This is a great one! πŸ™‚

  5. stacilys says:

    No , no Pinocchia, don’t teach him how to lie. It’s much nicer to be a man of integrity and truth. Teach him to stand firm and be a man of noble character.
    That’s my hope and prayer for you, Benjamin. Keep that soft heart and conscious.
    πŸ™‚

  6. F.G.M. says:

    I love your title and the first stanza. Great poem!

  7. What happened? I thought going forward Ben was going to focus on and write about things positive, optimistic, pleasing? πŸ™‚

    • bejamin4 says:

      I’ve noticed I do better with negative thoughts because it gives me something to fight against. If I think I’ll never write another poem again it make me write one so that I prove myself wrong, and conquer my fear. Although, I’ve also noticed that I can only stay optimistic for short spurts, which I never seem to conquer. I’m sure there are brilliant ways of thinking to get away from this, however.

  8. amoafowaa says:

    This is so beautiful. I’m amazed.

  9. Phen Weston says:

    Beautiful, very clever stanza ” How are you not / A pile of soot / From all the smoke / You blew my way?” Great poem my friend πŸ™‚ have a great weekend.

  10. You have such a way of words- you so hit the pulse of what it is like to be in a “relationship” with such an individual. I love your ingenuity.

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thank you for the lovely compliment. Unfortunately I’ve been in relationships with too many people like this. I’m glad they are over, though. Some things are better left in the past. Have a great weekend, Kimberly!

  11. InfiniteZip says:

    Be the puppet master…wood burns you know πŸ™‚ just kidding, great piece my friend πŸ™‚

  12. Grace Black says:

    I think I know this person. Haha! Lovely lines as usual. Thanks for sharing!

  13. lostsoul62 says:

    loved it πŸ™‚ amazing poem and strong words πŸ™‚

  14. mgquinonez says:

    wow. love this.
    -Mystery of M

  15. mgquinonez says:

    I told one white lie
    And my soul feels
    Darker than the inside
    Of a chimney
    ^My fav line

Leave a Reply

