The Desk Or The Bed?

Posted: December 6, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

There once was an old fool
Who insisted on wearing a crown
Projecting feelings onto others
That only made others frown

That fool had a friend
Who was nearer to a boy
An uncrowned fool himself for allowing
This old fool to treat him like a toy

As an example
When it came to old flames
The older fool always said
“It is more proper to undress and share a bed with an ex than to be dressed and share a desk. Ask anyone and they will agree.”
And that was what the older fool did
And for too long this fool-boy did agree

Or at least he was tricked into thinking so
Tricked into thinking that there was
No difference between the L’s used
That “I love you” was the same as “I Lust You”

Comments
  1. Phen Weston says:

    “I love you” was the same as “I Lust You”, great line and one so easily overlooked today 🙂

  2. Sometimes awakenings take a while.

  3. cmrsyk1985 says:

    Excellent style, brother…always a pleasure to read your work.

  4. all I could think about when I read this is: fools rush in but they also rush out … haha.nice line about the L’s, too!

  5. You joke, but the other way is better, right?
    Well done, Benjamin

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thanks. Yes, joking. I guess better depends on the person. My better might not be another person’s. Though in certain relationships there may be a boundary. Have a great Sunday!

  6. stacilys says:

    Hey Benjamin. I don’t know what’s going on, but I didn’t see this in my Reader. Hmmmm. Or maybe it’s because on the weekends I don’t get to spend as much time on WordPress. At any rate, bummed that I only got to see it now.
    What a poem, my friend. It’s unfortunate that so many people now-a-day mistaken ‘lust’ for ‘love’. Or ‘falling in love’ with the actual act of ‘love’. I think you already know my views on ‘love’, right? 🙂
    This was such a cute poem Benjamin. I like the whole idea of the older fool teaching the younger fool.
    🙂

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thanks. I think you’re right about love and lust. It is unfortunate. And I think sometimes older fools teach newer fools foolish ways, at times. Thanks for the comments.

      • stacilys says:

        You’re welcome.
        It goes the other way around too. The wise learn for the wiser and add to their understanding. I guess we could say that the foolish learn from fools and add to their foolishness. Eek! hehe 🙂

      • bejamin4 says:

        Yes. You’re right. The wise can learn from the wiser too. I think that is how it should happen always. But I suppose we can learn much from fools too. They can show us how not to act. 🙂

      • stacilys says:

        Great point. Yes, we can definitely learn what not to do.
        🙂

  7. lostsoul62 says:

    great poem Benjamin 🙂

  8. Kirsten says:

    Great poem 🙂 I hope “I love you” comes back in fashion soon!!

Leave a Reply

