Cleaning House

Posted: January 9, 2015 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

By Benjamin Grossman and Christopher Rupley

Writhing,
teeth gnashing
and half-clothed,
courting disdain
on a park bench
in twenty degree
weather

I find it kind
what the mind
can marry and
the body sustain
for I am not in
twenty degree
weather

No,
I am simply
beaten and bruised,
frozen,
shattered,
within my being,

But if time
and grace
allow, I will
shatter that which freezes me
and beat the bruises from
the rug of my soul

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and CMRSYK1985: Make sure and check out his blog by visiting The Brown Bag Special.)

Comments
  1. InfiniteZip says:

    Nothing came through, Wp said couldn’t find page?

    Kim Laettner

    >

  2. stacilys says:

    This is very good Benjamin. You both have done a great job. I like the way you’ve played with the idea of being in 20 degree weather, and not being in 20 degree weather. Also, the power of the mind, mind-sets, and how our thoughts affect us so deeply.
    Bravo.
    πŸ™‚

    • bejamin4 says:

      Wow, thank you. Always means so much to me when you share your thoughts here. Thank you πŸ™‚ I hope your weekend gets off to a great start!

      • stacilys says:

        You’re more than welcome, Benjamin.
        I’m off to the beach for a mini-vacay tomorrow. Yeah! I think it’s needed.
        Have a great weekend.
        πŸ™‚

      • bejamin4 says:

        That’s great. A mini-vacation sounds wonderful. Glad to hear you’re treating yourself to one. Have a wonderful time and great rest of your weekend! πŸ™‚

  3. mspahr says:

    This was so tangible, I felt I was there. I even wanted to cheer you on in the end when you realized you can rise up and out. Great, great work!

  4. Phen Weston says:

    “I will / shatter that which freezes me / and beat the bruises from / the rug of my soul” Fantastic ending to a brilliant collaboration.

Leave a Reply

