Man Behind The Tarnished Curtain

Posted: January 31, 2015 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , ,

By Benjamin Grossman, Phen Weston, and Christopher Rupley

What is between the in-between?
What is over the over?
What is under the under?
What is after the after?

Destination manifests
manipulation,
razors,
conjuring a chorus of ifs-and-buts,
between the heliac helix,

Of toppled thoughts,
precepts reverberating,
smelted in the ore
of my mind,
pressed and hammered,
beaten and shaped into

An anorexic tomorrow,
a today that when leeched
bleeds weeping yesterdays,
leaping away from logic

Where esoteric divergence
becomes the hardened
sentiment of forgetting,
the apocalyptic self doubt,

And every thought that
steeps inside and out
leads me to
lean towards an absurdity
of consciousness,
to know that there is One
between the in-between,
over the over,
under the under,
and after the after
in my mind….

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself, Phen Weston and CMRSYK1985: Make sure and check out their blogs by visiting darknesswarmth.wordpress.com and The Brown Bag Special.)

Comments
  1. this is a great one! you three work really well together…

  2. Yup – I feel like this sometimes. You’ve expressed it way better than I ever could. 🙂

  3. Johnny Ojanpera says:

    Nice one! “Between the heliac helix” ☆☆☆☆☆

  4. Thank goodness for that one thing! A bleak image indeed but nicely portrayed. I like the dark!

  5. I am always surprised by your work! (in such a good way)

  6. Aquileana says:

    “To know that there is One
    between the in-between,
    over the over,
    under the under,
    and after the after
    in my mind”….

    Impressive poem Benjamin!~ I could almost feel the oppressive atmosphere, the presence of absurdity… Anorexic legs shaved by oxidized razors… Looking forward to the arrival of a dried hopeless tomorrow.
    Thanks for sharing and best wishes to you. Aquileana ⭐

    • bejamin4 says:

      Thank you. Always great working with these two other poets. They bring many ideas to the table that I might not bring myself. Thanks for commenting. I hope you have a wonderful Sunday!

  7. Well done, Gentlemen. Left me with a desire to help. Hugs.

  8. kirsten says:

    Wow! It’s amazing how you all stitched your words together. They really flow well together. I was surprised to see that 3 people had written this…very well done by all of you! The word combinations in this poem are truly brilliant.

Leave a Reply

