Shattered Mirrors and Other Love Songs

Posted: February 5, 2015 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , ,

By Benjamin Grossman, Phen Weston, and Christopher Rupley

Talents aside,
years of schooling
and the punishments
that came with the ever-grueling
thought of failure,
we offer ourselves to
one another

And ID cards remind
me of my face,
although the mirror
mocks me daily,
telling me that I am
such a disgrace,
for what I believe,
yearn for,
and honestly
hope will kill my demons

What mistakes remain?
Fresh scars on our hearts,
Those fickle loves
That trickle between
To make cascading rivers seem
The place to drown our sins,
Each fresh romance
Becomes the wilting bud,
But still we push,
Try and crush,
To hold them,

And a few become
widowed dreams
attracting newer ones,
finding the cliff
easier to climb than
to fall off of
for the purse of pessimism
contains both
perfume of hope and
cosmetic optimism
all of which conceals
the image made by
the heated sand

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself, Phen Weston and CMRSYK1985: Make sure and check out their blogs by visiting darknesswarmth.wordpress.com and The Brown Bag Special.)

Comments
  1. Perfume of hope, cosmetic optimism…love those!!

  2. mgquinonez says:

    ” ID cards remind
    me of my face,
    although the mirror
    mocks me daily,
    telling me that I am
    such a disgrace,
    for what I believe,
    yearn for,
    and honestly
    hope will kill my demons”
    ^ My favorite lines ! Great piece πŸ™‚

    – M

  3. Wow. It’s amazing what we put kids through in school. It’s a wonder any of us survive. Well done! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

