Reeling In My Mind

Posted: February 19, 2015 in Collaborative Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , ,

By Benjamin Grossman and Christopher Rupley

The scenes written
in sidewalk chalk
scribble down thoughts,
melting away with
each new rain
and mimicking
the memories that rot,
the ones that hunt me
on and off

At times I am less
blood and bone
and more feelings upon feelings,
stacked in such a way that my core
will fall no matter my next move,
like a misplayed Jenga tower

My mind reels in
like it has been cast
into the deepest waters,
baited and weighted
for the next big catch
and release

As I stand on the ledge
Of a question, wondering:
Is it possible to lure oneself
out of oneself?

(This is part of a collaborative poetic effort between myself and CMRSYK1985: Make sure and check out his blog by visiting The Brown Bag Special.)

Comments
  1. bleedingoutink says:

    “I am a picture
    drawn in chalk
    upon lifeโ€™s
    sidewalk
    washing away
    in a summer
    rain
    beauty not meant
    to stay”

    a line from one of my poetry posts….. great minds must think alike ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Wonderful work gentlemen

  2. I love the first stanza – beautiful imagery. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Love how you intertwined child like images into this one. it gives it a darker slant.

Leave a Reply

